Archive | 9:41 PM

Japan

7 Feb

This is my first post with my new keyboard I ordered for my phone. Lets see how it goes.

I did a bit of research on Japan, especially compared to the US. The idea is based on how often people say that god is punishing America with natural disasters for all the atheist, gay people, and accepting them. Well, let us put them side by side and see how it holds up.

(Note: Feel free to question the reliability of this data. Don’t hesitate to correct me if I’m wrong. Theres a good chance it will happen.)

Now, this is a little ironic considering Japan has been having a lot of misfortunes, but I will address this.

First, lets compare the two according to religion. In America, 75% of us are Christian. About 10-15% are atheist/agnostic. In Japan however, its almost the reverse. Less than 15% believe in god, and less than 1% are Christian. Let me say that again. Less than 1% of the people in Japan are Christian. If the price for 25% of our country not believing in Jesus is every hurricane, earthquake and other natural disaster we’ve had so far, 99% should have sunk the nation.

The most obvious response to this of course is the fact Japan was nuked twice in 1945. Well, statistics show that religion in Japan decreased drastically from the mid-1900’s. So if the bombings were a punishment for irreligion then, Japan would be long gone by now. Instead it is a very successful country. I have some more statistics to share to show this.

Educationally, Japan appears to be higher than the US. In an international test taken by 8th graders, Japan scored the 4th highest. The US however was 11th.

Second, there is the average life expectancy. Here, Japan’s all the way near the top at number 5. On the other hand, all the way down at number 50 is the US.

My last piece of evidence is the line of poverty. Here however, both America and Japan are about equal. An estimated one in six people live in poverty in both countries.

Now that I’ve shown these, I should address the amount of disasters that occur in Japan. These seem to happen a lot; tsunamis, the earthquakes, the recent flood with nuclear disaster, every other fucking month. Here is my counter to this: Disasters happen here in America too. I do believe we are directly hit by every single hurricane that comes our way. Its not morality issues, its just geography. We live at a spot where hurricanes land. Same with Japan; locations of fault lines and fun stuff like that. If it had to do with religion, America would be hit a lot less, and Japan a lot more.

~
:3

Follow me on Twitter:
@AtheistEvolving